Office of Cultural Education

Cultural Education

New York State Archives, Library, Museum and Public Broadcasting

Birds of New York Illustration

The Office of Cultural Education (OCE) operates three major cultural institutions with stewardship responsibilities for collections -- the New York State Museum, State Library, and State Archives - and the Office of Educational Television and Public Broadcasting. All three collection-holding institutions ensure that valuable information, knowledge and collections under their care, are preserved and made available for current and future generations.

In addition to collection stewardship and public programs, OCE also administers chartering, technical assistance, program coordination and grant and aid programs serving 7,000 public and academic libraries and 73 library systems; museums, historical societies, zoos, aquaria, botanical gardens, science centers, and other similar organizations; 26 public radio and television stations; 3,000 historical records repositories and 4,500 local governments.

Last Updated: July 3, 2014